Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Modelling & UV – The Fridge Scene

A model was required to place Tom and friends when they reach the stage of being in the fridge. I worked on modelling the fridge after some feedback the team wanted a  more smoothed version of the model so I worked on this a little more to get it looking more realistic.

Screen Shot 2015-12-04 at 15.29.50

The next stage was to UV the model and make a manual map where the inside of the fridge and the fridge door had a lot more UV space than the other shells.

Screen Shot 2015-12-04 at 15.29.43

This was due to the fact that they would be visible more often and closer than the other parts of the model so I want them to have the highest resolution texture. The door of the fridge are seen in one camera and the inside of the fridge is seen in the next camera.

I am working on the AO (Ambient Occlusion) of the fridge to make it have contrast shadows so that I can use this as a guide when texturing the fridge.

Screen Shot 2015-12-04 at 15.39.41

So far the AO is not having the progress I want it to and is not showing enough contrast. In the past when I have used AO it usually shows enough definition that I am able to see a difference between the paint layer and the AO layer in mudbox however that is not happening much at this stage.

Reflection –

I thought that it was good that I was able to go back and work on models an and UV’s if I was perhaps stuck with logic or had worked up some free time. I found UVing pretty straightforward and would have brought any model I had made into mud box to texture quickly to test the UV’s which worked for me. I found modelling a basic fridge enjoying because I hadn’t modelled in a way and just kept things simple. I felt that being able to work back and forth on the pipeline not only sped us up but it was a refreshing break when I sometimes needed it from the game logic.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 2, 2015 by in Final Year - Creative Futures and tagged .
