Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Industry Feedback – Inlifesize

On Friday I was able to pop into Inlifesize where I done my industry placement and ask some of my old colleagues advice on the project and obtain some help and feedback. Here is some of the feedback I was provided with during the visit:

  • Never Animate from the top level of the hierarchy.
  • Do all the lighting in Unity. (Realtime)
  • Smoothing objects in Maya does not carry through to Unity.
  • Build for PC format and think about how this will be output to the RSA.
  • Use the Shotgun scene from Alan as reference for a good asset structure.
  • Make use of @ before an FBX name so that the take carries the name of the file and does not display as take001.
  • Fix the locators in the current scene so I can have control over where the objects are placed without them jumping back to the zero position in the world when the animation is triggered.
  • None of this 52 vs 1 scale nonsense.

One of the major problems I discovered when trying to bring the assets into Unity was after placing the object once the animation was triggered the object jumped back to zero in the world space this was because the locator had animation on it when it shouldn’t have. The images below show how the hierarchy was structured and where the animation was placed and how it is now. From the advice of Colin I was able to fix one of them and show Fiona how to do it so that the rest of the scene could be corrected.

Screen Shot 2015-11-25 at 10.01.17

Screen Shot 2015-11-25 at 10.01.39

Reflection – 

I thought it was really nice to get to go back to inlifesize as I really missed the guys and the studio. It was good for me to get their more than honest opinions about what I was trying to achieve and I felt like it really helped me move forward as I had been feeling like I had maybe bitten off a lot more than I could chew. I wanted to be able to make a game as I felt my time on placement taught me that much I would have the capability to do so I just found that the process was a lot slower without the amount of people I was used to and that time would be against me a lot more without them.

I had made some rookie errors in the process but I’m so glad I was able to make a fool out of myself to find out that these errors were just a silly little think id done or missed and that it wouldn’t be days of problem solving to figure it all out. I preferred the honest feedback and Im glad now that I payed the visit and was able to communicate my issues with the guys.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 2, 2015 by in Final Year - Creative Futures and tagged .
