Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Houdini Galaxy Tutorial – Part Two

The next stage of this tutorial introduces velocity the first parameter I edit is the initial velocity I turn off the inherit velocity so that I can now set my own. Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 12.06.03

I then have to create an orbit node which is achieved by using the tab menu and placing the node on the network view within the popnet1 level. I then have to connect the source node I have been working on to the orbit node. Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 12.07.06The first parameter I change is the center type which I edit from individual particles to center point as shown in the image below by using the drop down menu.  I then have to check the override center point box in order to turn this option on.

All of these setting I am editing within the orbit node are all working towards creating my own velocity. The next parameter I am going to edit is within the orbit tab of the orbit node controlling the axis to 0,1,0 and turning on the override axis option. I then need to increase the radius to 2 and override the radius as well as increase the speed to 30 and turning the scale to 0.3.Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 12.09.49For the radius parameter I then entered the following expression distance($TX, $TY, $TZ, 0,0,0) and for the speed parameter I entered this expression fit(distance($TX, $TY, $TZ, 0,0,0),0,10,10,.1)Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 12.38.47

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2014 by in Creative Solutions, Galaxies, Houdini and tagged .
