Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Houdini Galaxy Tutorial – Part Four

When I return to the Popnet (POPNetwork) level of the network you can then see that the Min Speed, Max Radius, Max Speed parameters are now visible and editable from clicking on the voppop1 node without needing to go down into the VOPPOP network itself. This is possible because I promoted these parameters in the previous stage. Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 13.23.22I then need to return to the geo1 network and create a VOPSOP network node and place it between the add1 and popnet1 and rename it to TO_POPS. The whole purpose of the VOPSOP is so that the spiral arms of the galaxy are created.Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 10.36.03I then need to dive into the vopsop1 (VOPSOP network) by default I will find a global1 and output1 nodes however I need to create some of my own. The first node I am going to create is the turbulent noise node that is displayed as turbnoise. The next node I create is the vector float (vectofloat1) node. I am required to connect the P (position) of the global1 node to the pos (position) of the turbnoise1 node. I then connect the noise from turbnoise1 and plug it into the vec of the vectofloat1 node, I then plug the fval1 segment f the vectofloat1 node in the Cd segment (color) of the output1 node. Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 10.36.08As you can see in the image above the turbnoise1 (turbulent noise) node has a lot of little circles to the left of each segment these are confirmation that these parameters have been promoted. In order to promote a parameter I need to middle mouse click on the segment and then select promote parameter.

The next thing I must do is change the type of noise being displayed to sparse convolution noise in the noise type parameter shown in the image below.  I can play about with the frequency here as well to get a different appearance.Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 10.36.25What I want to do now is create a delete node and place it between the TO_pops and vopsop1 node that I have previously created. The next thing it to edit some of the parameters for example I need to change to entity type to points as we are working with points. Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 11.35.35While remaining on the delete node we want to change the operation from delete by pattern to delete by expression and we now need to type in the following expression $CR < 0.1  This is the spiral pattern created and if I am to click on popnet1 and press play on the simulation I can now see the galaxy spinning into a spiral shape. Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 11.37.25I then want to create the core for the centre of the galaxy and I do this by returning to the VOPSOP (vopsop1) network and adding the following nodes. I need to create a distance node using the tab menu and connect the P (position) value of global1 to the p1 of distance1. I then need to create a fit range node (fit1) and connect the dist (distance) of the distance node to the val (value) of the fit1 node. Next I create a complement node (complement1) node and and connect the co segment to the Cd (color) segment of the output1 node.  The last thing I need to do is promote the srcmax segment of the fit range (fit1) node this is done by middle mouse clicking on the segment and pressing promote parameter. Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 11.44.59In order for us to have more control of the simulation I need to create a ramp1 node (ramp parameter) and place it in between the complement1 node and the output1node. The co of complement1 goes to the input of the ramp and the dist of the ramp goes to the Cd (color) of the output1 node. Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 11.46.33

Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 12.05.51 Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 12.06.23

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2014 by in Creative Elements, Creative Solutions, Galaxies, Houdini and tagged .
