Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Houdini – Football

Getting back into practice I decided to use a tutorial to freshen up my mind in Houdini and build a football. I must say i’m happy with my football and it did bring back a few simple things I had totally forgotten about until now. Im going to be working through more tutorials through the course of the morning to try and get my Houdini back to scratch breaks really are dangerous.

This tutorial was pretty basic I had to use a platonic solid and set it to the solid type of soccer ball. This screen shot is from a little later on in the scene when I was setting up the camera and lights to get a nice render shot.

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 10.34.13 This is the way my network looks at the minute you can see my platonic object and camera as well as the grid that I have applied a mantra surface to it to enable it to look like a football field. A spotlight and area light has also been created. 

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 10.34.26 When I dive down into the platonic_object1 node this is the next network that is displayed which started by the creation of a sphere and ray node these were then linked up to each other. The next stage was to create a foreach node where I could then polyextrude the individual segment of the ball which was targeted by a primnum attribute when I created the subdivide1 node and then attribcreate1 node. When I returned to the platonic_object1 node I then placed a fuse and subdivide node shown as fuse1 and subdivide2. Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 10.34.36Here is an image of the football rendered out with a little bit of spotlighting going on I’m happy with the result for it being a quick tutorial. Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 10.34.07

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2014 by in Creative Solutions, Houdini and tagged .
