Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Volcano Ash Plume, Part 7

The image below shows the Ramp that I have just created and I now have the option to change how the wind will affect the smoke by using the wind ramp parameter. Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 15.33.53The ramp started of with a clear divide between the black and grey from the bottom left corner to the top right corner the image below shows how I have edited the ramp.  Edited the ramp is done by clicking were abouts on the ramp I would like to edit and then moving the ramp up and down or left or right to create curves and blend in the wind ramp effect. Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 15.34.46The next step is to create a null node using the tab menu and placing it within the wind node. The images below show the creation of the null node and how it looks within the network view.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am then able to re name the null node from null1 to OUT_WindControl. Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 15.35.49When I return to the object level this is what I see the box to contain the smoke emitting from the volcano and the ramp to determine the effects of the wind. Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 15.38.06I then create a source volume node in the tab menu and place it onto the network view within the AutoDopNetwork. Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 15.40.51The sourcevolume1 node needs to then be connected up to the merge2 node within the AutoDopNetwork.  I then need to rename the sourcevolume1 node to source_wind.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The volume path needs to be directed to the OUT_WindControl in order to do this I need to select the volume path and press the white box at the end of the volume path parameter this then opens the choose operator window were I can then direct the path to wind and then OUT_WindControl and press the export relative path and then pressing accept. Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 15.41.55The volume path now looks like this because I have now chosen the operator.Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 15.42.27While still selected on the source_wind node I need to make some more changes within the volume operation mini tab. I need to change the source volume value from add to none. Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 15.42.44The temperature then needs to be changed from add to none the same way as I changed the source volume node.Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 15.42.53Velocity is the next value I need to edit which needs to be changed from copy to add by using the drop down box beside the relevant option in this case velocity. Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 15.43.04The next setting I need to edit within the source_wind node is the scale velocity node which needs to be changed from 1 to 10. I typed in the value of 10 in order to achieve this. Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 15.43.52This is now the current settings of my source_wind node I am now able to move on to make one last change to another node.Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 15.45.33The final node I need to edit is the pyro node which requires me to decrease my division size to 0.5 which I done by typing in the 0.5 value. Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 15.47.08

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2014 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged .
