Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Volcano Ash Plume, Part 4

The next stage in the process is to create a volume trail node this is node by moving to the network view at the bottom right of the screen and using the tab menu by pressing tab and typing in volume trail I can this place this node in the network view. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.55.10

This is how the network view appears with the volume trail node include the next stage is to connect the volumetrail1 to to the volume1 and the grid1 node. This is done by clicking on the little grey boxes on the top of the volumetrail1 and dragging the string across to the relevant nodes.  As you can see the volume1 node is to the right so I selected the grey box to the right and pulled the string to volume1. The grid1 node is to the left so I selected the grey box on the left of the volumetrail1 node and pulled it to the grid1 node to connect it. The relationships between this nodes are now created.

Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.55.39 In this image you may notice a dotted grid across the scene view this appears to be dotted in red, yellow and green. In order to visualise this I must change the initial value of the z value from 0 to 1. I am also able to name the volume1 node vel in the name parameters on the settings above the initial value parameter. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.57.04 The next thing I do is use the tab menu in order to create a Volume VOP node by pressing tab and typing in volume VOP and selecting the relevant option and placing the node on the network view like so. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.57.29The Volume VOP node that I have just created I need to go down into the level of this node by double clicking on the Volume VOP node. I will then be displayed with the network that is created by default that I need to make some changes to within the network view.  The first thing I need to do is right click on the line that connects the volumevopglobal1 node and the volumevopoutput1 I will then be given the option to disconnect. Once I press this the nodes are detached and no longer have a a relationship with one an other.Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.58.16Now that the nodes have been separated the next thing I want to do is create a turbulent noise node by using the tab menu which is done by pressing tab and typing in turbulent and selected the turbulent noise node and placing it on to the network view in between the volumnevopglobal1 and volumevopoutput1 node. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.58.43If I click on the turbulent noise node which is shown as the turbnoise1 node I am able to see the settings for this node and the first setting I want to change is the signature node which is currently set to1D. I need to use the drop down menu and select 3D to change the signature to 3D.Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.58.58After changing the signature settings the next thing that I want to do is change the noise type parameter from alligator noise to sparse convolution noise by using the drop down menu beside the noise type parameter.Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.59.10I now need to make some connections to do this I need to connect the P value from the volumevopglobal1 node and drag it across and connect it with the pos value of the turbnoise1 node. I then need to select the noise value of the turbnoise1 node and drag it over to the density node of the volumevopoutput1 node.  This process is done by clicking on the relevant value which creates a string and pulling this string over to the next relevant value and clicking will place the string down. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.59.51I now need to create a Parameter using the tab menu and typing in parameter and placing the node below the current nodes in the network view.Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 21.00.32You can now see the parameter node called parm1 on the network view this node has a yellow top box even though the rest are grey I haven’t came across why this is yet however I did think it could be an error of some kind. In the name value I typed in vel and I have discovered that if I type the name vel into a node it may be calling information from all other nodes called vel so if I want this to happen smoothly I cannot called on node Vel and the other vel the naming conventions must be identical. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 21.01.23In the type value of the parameter node (parm1) I need to use the drop down menu and change the type from float to vector as shown in the image below. I also need to change the export value from never to when input is connected by using the drop down menu.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The next thing I do is drag the noise value from the turbnoise1 node to the unb value of the parameter1 node and the following image will the be shown in the scene view. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 21.15.10

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2014 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged .
