Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Volcano Ash Plume, Part 3

In this video you will see the effects of the temperature visulisation when I am in wireframe mode. This to me was pretty cool even though I do not have an awesome volcano at this stage this part fascinated me.

If I navigate to my pyrosolver1 within the AutoDopNetwork within the settings I  had previously turned the buoyancy lift value from 30 down to 5 however I now need to decrease this again to 3.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The next stage is for me to remain in the pyrosolver1 settings but use the shape tab instead of the simulation tab. I then need to decrease the sharpening value from 2 down to1 and also change the dissipation value from 0.1 to 0.075 this value is to simulate the ash as we want the ash to hang around for a while as ash is more dense than dust and will not immediately dissipate. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.45.30If I then return to my object level I can place a geometry node by use the tab menu and typing in geo and placing the node in the network view away from the other nodes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At this stage in the tutorial I then want to create a box node within my wind node this node was the geometry node that I have just created and that I have now renamed  by double clicking on the geometry node text. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.48.05In order for the box to have the same size as the rest of my simulation I need to return to my AutoDopNetwork and click inside this level once I am clicked on the pyro node I then need to go to the size parameter and right click on the title and press copy parameter. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.48.59When I return to the wind node and click into the box node level I am then able to paste copied relative references from the size value into the size value of the box this will ensure everything is the same size I also need to repeat this step with the centre parameter. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.49.30The slideshow below shows the process of copying and pasting the parameters for the centre value of the pyro node to the centre value of the box node.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The next thing I am required to do is create a volume node by using the tab menu and typing in volume and placing the node onto the network view I then need to connect this node to the box1 node and change the rank parameter from scalar to vector. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.52.00I then need to create a grid which is done by using the tab menu and typing in grid and placing the grid node into the network view however I now want my grid to have the same size and centre values as the box therefore I must again repeat the copy parameter and past relative references options again I will document this in the next slideshow. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.52.38In the slideshow below the process of copying the centre and size parameter of the box node to the grid node by pasting relative references is shown. After this process when I am still on the grid node I can then edit the orientation of the grid from ZX to YZ by using the drop down menu where the orientation title is.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the scene view this is how the grid appears when the orientation axis is changed to YZ. You can also see that the size and centre values have turned green as the parameters now have the same value as the box node due to the previous copy parameter and pasting the relative references into the centre and size values. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.54.36You may notice the rows and columns is set to 10 for each value I need to increase this to 33 for both the rows and columns as shown I can either type in 33 to each of the text boxes or grab the pull box and drag it up the bar to the right to increase the size. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 20.54.52

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 18, 2014 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged .
