Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Volcano Ash Plume, Part 1

This is one tutorial I have been looking forward to doing and I am glad to be making a start in the process of making a volcanic ash plume using Houdini.

The tutorial begins by opening Houdini and using ctrl click on the sphere toll on the create shelf at the top left of the interface. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.18.51 The radius of the sphere now needs to be increased from 1,1,1 to 6,6,6 this is to make my sphere appear to be much larger. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.19.27You will now notice that the creation of this sphere also created a sphere_object node in the network view. In order to see this node I need to return to the object level by pressing the obj button above the network view. I have also zoomed out on my scene so that you can see what has been created at this stage. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.19.45In the shelf tools along the top bar you will notice a tab called PyroFX that I select in order to get the option to choose the volcano option. I then have to click on my sphere and press enter to confirm that I wish for volcano to emit from the sphere.Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.20.22The use of this volcano tool creates an AutoDopNetwork for me in the network view I now have to dive down into this level by double clicking on the AutoDopNetwork node which shows me the pre made network in the network view.Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.21.05 When I drag the timeline further I can see the simulation of smoke appear however I am require to set this up to replicate a real volcanoes smoke unfortunately I will not be created an eruption in this tutorial not just yet anyway.  I have also created a point light which is created by using the light and cameras self along the top of the interface and selecting the point light option. I am then able to tumble my point light around the scene in the same way as a camera. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.24.24This is where I set up the point light settings hat I need to do now is decrease the light intensity from 1 to 0.3 in order to do this i can either use the box on the scroll bar and drag it downwards to decrease it or I can clcik on the box before light intensity and simply type in my value of 0.3 Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.25.56As well as the light intensity settings i can also control the colour of the light by clicking on the coloured blue box which was previously at default white which open the select colour window where I can then choose and edit shades of a colour. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.31.27 At this stage in the tutorial I need to return to the object level of the network view and click down into the sphere_object1 node that opens up the following settings where there is a radius tab I can then increase or decrease the values of the x,y and z axis of the sphere. The images in the slideshow show me increasing the radius and then increasing it again in order to get the look I want.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2014 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged .
