Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Volcano Ash Plume, Part 2

At this stage in the tutorial I then have to click on the sphere_object1 level that will open its settings in the SDF from geometry tab I must then turn of the minimum distance check box as well as turn off the empty interior function by unchecking the boxes for both values.Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.36.40I then need to navigate over to the noise tab where I am required to then select the Turbulence settings tab where I can then increase the sharpness by dragging the box higher on the bar. I am also able to change the element size value but keeping it around the 5 mark seems to give the best appearance. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.38.43When I selected the turbulence tab I noticed the cell settings tab right beside it and this is were I now have to navigate to. I can now increase the cell size and turn the cell influence up and down. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.41.03Now I need to return to the object view and select the AutoDopNetwork and double click on the pyrosolver1 node there is a setting for Timescale which is set to 1 that enables the animation to play relatively fast until around frame 90 and the animation will go into slow motion so that you can see your changes better at present I do not require this option so I need to right click on the timescale title and press delete channels which will make this box go grey instead of green as it is no longer being called as a value.Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.43.10For me this is were things started to get really interesting I am now at the stage were I can edit the temperature of my volcano smoke as hot things rise I am able to add the physics of this to my volcano. In order to do this I need to return to the AutoDopNetwork node and double click into it once I have done this I need to select the pyro node and navigate to the guides tab half way down the settings and then use the visulization tab that brings up the window with the coloured boxes to the right of the images below I then need to click on the check box for temperature and this grid like visulization and cloud is added to my scene view.Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.44.34The video below shows the simulation in play with the temperature visulization applied to it as you may notice with a lot of the videos I am including they tend to run fast and then run slow this is due to lagging from my processor when cooking the simulations. 

As you can see in this image there is an obj > AutoDopNetwork option at the top this is were I can see which network I am in and which network I was previously in so that I can navigate back and forth my networks faster. If I return to my pyrosolver1 node I am able to control the simulations via the simulation tab. The parameter buoyancy lift is set to 30 as default I then need to decrease this to 5 either by dragging the bar down or typing 5 into the text box after the title. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.47.40 As you may have noticed from my previously work in Houdini my scene view is set to a light grey colour and I have been trying to figure out how to change this and I have finally found out what I need to do is press D on the keyboard which opens the display options and then navigate to the Background tab and were it says colour scheme I need to change this to dark so that I now have a black scene view like the lecturer in the tutorial. This is not just a preference thing it does allow me to see what i’m doing better in this simulation. Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 19.55.42

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2014 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged .
