Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Mantra waterfall Render – Tutorial

This stage in the process became quite difficult very quickly and I spent a huge amount of time on this part trying to get it right I will show the process used to set up the scene for rendering and show the different render attempts and how I had to improvise to get a rendered waterfall.

The tutorial I was using was not what I thought it was I thought I was going to be guided step by step through how to create a set to put my waterfall I had created previously into and then I would render it and it would look amazing. Unfortunately there was no guidance on how to built the set or how to put my waterfall into the one provided. The tutorial did provide some useful tips on how to set up my water for rendering however I had to add an ocean shader to get my scene looking good.

The tutorial also showed me useful tips for getting lighting terms reflection and refraction just right as water is one of those fluids that either the light bounces of or goes through therefore it is difficult to render correctly.

The first step in the tutorial was to place a mantra node in the out level of the network view. This was done by using the tab menu and typing in mantra and placing the node down.Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.00.42When selected on the mantra node I had to go to the settings and then properties and navigate to the render tab I then had to change the Rendering engine from Ray Tracing to Physically Based Rendering. Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.01.12Using the menus along the top of the screen I had to change the camera selected for my scene from ROP camera to my camera called /obj/beautycam which I want to use for rendering.Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.02.11Whilst remaining on the mantra node I had to then navigate from the render tab over to the output tab and select the check box which said Override Camera Resolution so that I wasn’t getting extremely large renders while I was still in the editing process. Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.03.05Still in the output settings I then had to change the resolution scale from user specified resolution to 1/2 (Half resolution) to make the renders even easier to handle. Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.03.15At this stage I navigated to the material palette where the network usually is and I searched for the checkerboard material and pulled it onto the grid on the floor of my scene. I then repeated this step with a mantra material however I pulled the mantra material onto the water itself. Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.05.05When clicked on the material mantra surface I used the diffuse tab to uncheck the enable diffuse option as water doesn’t really have a diffuse so the lecturer said. Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.06.28Still on the mantra surface settings I then used the reflect tab turned on enable base reflection layer and navigated to the reflect objects tab and turned on the reflect options checkbox. You may also see the option for separate object reflection parameters I had to uncheck this to turn this option off.Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.08.11Beside the Reflect objects tab there is a tab for reflect lights I then had to navigate across to there and switch on the reflect lights option by clicking on the checkbox. I also had to decrease the specular angle option from 10 to 1. Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.10.15At this stage I was required to turn of the enable base reflection layer that I had previously turned off. This is located in the reflect tab and then base tab of the mantra settings. Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.10.59Navigating over to the refract tab I then turned on the enable refractions checkbox by clicking on it as shown below. Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.11.22The enable bade reflection layer was then turned back on again in the same way as I turned it off previously by navigating to the reflect tab and checking the box on. Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.12.16In order to give the simulation more of a realistic look I then navigated to the settings tab and enabled an option called fresnel blending which would give my waterfall a more realistic appearance. Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.13.02 Returning back to the famous reflect tab there us an option at the bottom of this tab called specular minimum that I decreased down to 0.052 as to much will make the scene like unrealistic. Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.14.14At this stage of the tutorial I can now return to the diffuse tab and turn enable diffuse back on again by selecting the check box. I am also able to decrease the diffuse intensity as way too much makes water appear nothing like water. Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.15.25I then removed my checkerboard material from the floor grid and placed clay materials on all of the grids instead to give a feeling of a set surrounding the waterfall.Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 15.23.41

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 15, 2014 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged .
