Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Flip Fluid Waterfall – Particles, Part 9

I am finally closing in on the end of this tutorial at last the stage I am at now has me adding some more code to an expression I had been working on in Part 8 of this tutorial the expression in question was the opinputpath(“.”,1) However this expression would not function until I added a op: (op command) to the expression to complete it. Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 15.11.02The next stage was for me to return to the vopsop level using the vopsop1 node I then had to promote the parameter of the source max option which is done by right clicking on the button at the end of the source max option and selecting the promote parameter option. Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 15.12.39I then returned to the particle_fluid level and clicked on the vopsop1 node but didn’t go down onto the vopsop settings I was able to see an option in the vop sop node settings that allowed me to increase or decrease the maximum value by scrubbing along the bar. These images show the effect this option has on the waterfall by turning the maximum value up and down.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In this stage of the tutorial there is an awful lot of node creation going on for example my next stage was to create a delete node in the particle_fluid network view,Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 15.14.28After creating the delete node I then had to change the entity type from primitives to points as instructed in the tutorial. This was done by clicking on the entity option which displayed a drop down box with more options as shown in the images below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The next thing I was required to do was to change the operation type from delete by pattern to delete by expression which is done by clicking on the options beside operation this displays a drop down menu so that you can select which way you want the delete node to operate.

In the second image of the slideshow I was required to include a filter expression which contains the code $CR.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the expression I had talked about previously I had to edit the $CR to include $CR<0.8 as shown in the image below. You can now also see the waterfall and the effect the delete nodes expression has had on the waterfalls particles. Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 15.17.06The next part of the tutorial required me to create 3 null nodes and rename them. In order to create a null node in the particle_fluid level I used the tab menu and typed in null, This enabled me to place the null node on the network view as shown in the images below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In order to rename a null I simply need to double click on the text attached to the node and I will be allowed to type in a different name. I created the three nulls and renamed null1 to OUT_NewEmitters, null2 to OUT_Vel and null3 to OUT_Surface. I had to also connect these nodes up to the relevant other nodes in the network view, this is done by clicking on the grey box above or below the node and dragging the rope/string to the node you wish to connect it to.

In this case I had to attach OUT_NewEmitters to the delete1 node, OUT_Vel to the Isolate_Vel node and finally connect OUT_Surface to the Isolate_Surface node. Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 15.21.21This was part of the tutorial that reminded me of some basic organising skills that I had forgotten about over the Christmas break. As you can see my nodes are all messy but I can organise them into a clean column by selecting them all and then pressing the align vertical edges button on the top right of the network view the logo looks like a tiny white box above another tiny white box.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2014 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged .
