Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Flip Fluid Waterfall – Particles, Part 11

This is were the network view becomes a lot more difficult to follow. What I am doing here is I am creating a set of rules for my articles to follow when they collide with the surface of the landscape.

To begin this process I need to go to the popsolver1 level as shown below in the network view I then need to use the tab menu to create a VOP Force node and place it onto the network view.Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 18.33.34 Once the VOP Force node has been created I need to dive down onto its level in the network view which is done by double clicking on the VOP Force node. This is the view I get below much like the VOP Network nodes I have created previously there is a global and an output window created by default. I then need to create a volume sample from file node by using the tab menu again. The images below show the creation and appearance of the network view when I have made the volume sample from file node. I have also connected the global position attribute to the sample position of the volumesmaplefile node. This is one by clicking on the P option which creates a string and then pulling this string over to the samplepos option of the volumesamplefile and a relationship is created. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the images below the process of creating a compare node is shown by using the tab menu and typing in compare and placing the node on the network view. The next image shows the process of connecting the volume option of the volumesamplefile1 to the input1 of the compare node.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the image below I have to edit the test value of the compare not it is automatically set to equal (==) however I need to change it to Less than or Equal to (<=) as shown below this is achieved by using the drop down menu on the parameter settings when clicked on the compare node. Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 18.37.57I now have to create an If-Then Block using the tab menu and place the node on the network view once this had been completed I then needed to connect the bool output of compare1(<= 0) to the condition input of te if1 or also known as the If-Then Block.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To create more of a close circuit (or relationship) of my nodes I also needed to connect the P option from the global node to travel and across and connect to the P value of the if1 node. Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 18.40.26In the next stages I needed to create a volume gradient from file node and place it onto the network view via the tab menu. The next thing I had to do was connect the global (geometryvopglobal1) P value to the samplepos value of the volumegradientfile1.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I moved on by creating a multiply node by using the tab menu and typing in multiply which offered me a few options but the one that I needed was just multiply. I then placed this node onto the network view and to connect it with the volume option of the volumegradientfile1 node and also the volume option of the volume samplefile1 these options were both connected to multiply by using input modules.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A negate node then needed to be created in the network view using the tab menu and placed in between the  volumegradientfile1 and the multiply1 node. Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 18.44.15 First of I had to connect the negate node to the volume option of the volumegradientfile1 node and then to the input1 option of the multiply1 node. I then had to add an add node by using the tab menu and typing in add and placing the add node on the network view. Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 18.46.31The add node I have created had to be connected from the product option of the multiply1node to the input1 of the add1 node as shown below. Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 18.46.58Here I had to make more relationships between the nodes first of this add1 node turns out to be more iportant than I thought and creates a circuit between most of the other nodes. I need to connect the add1node to the geometryvopglobal1 file that is shown in the images below. In the next image I am then connecting the add1 node to the sum of the if1 nofde aka (If-Then Block).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I dive down into the if1 node this is the view I get there are some default nodes already placed in here the subinput1 node and the suboutput1 node. I need to connect the sum of the subinput1 node to the _P value of the suboutput1 node. Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 18.49.35I then return to the popvop level of the network view and I need to connect the _P value of the if1 node to the P value of the geometryvopoutput1 node. Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 18.50.11In this section of the tutorial when the volumegradientfile1 node is selected I need to naviaget to the settings above the network view which are shown when i am selected on the volumegradientfile1 node. I am looking for the Geometry File option as at the end of that option to the right I need to right click and promote the parameter. Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 18.51.25In the slideshow below you can see the volumegradientfile1 node which has a small ball like ocon to the left of the filename option as shown in the images when I click on this ball another node opens up called the filename node.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The next thing I have to do is to connect the filename option of the filename node to the filename of the volumesamplefile1 node as shown in the image below. Screen Shot 2014-01-14 at 18.54.43

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2014 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged .
