Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Flip Fluid Waterfall – Particles, Part 7

The next stage in the tutorial was to travel to the object level and then select the particle_fluid level within here I was then required to add a file node which is done by using the tab menu and typing in file once Iselect the file option I am then allowed to place the node in the network view. Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 15.37.28The next stage is to point this file node in the direction of the water simulation render I have just created called BaseWaterfall_$F.Bgeo. I am able to do this by selecting the choose geometry option to the right of the window shown in the screenshot below the button is highlighted in white. Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 15.37.54I must then make a few changes to the file1 node I have created by changing the missing frame type ftom report error to no geometry.  The next stage is the creation of an add node that I must connect to the file1 node by mouse clicking on the little grey box attached to the file1 node which will show me a string that I can attach to the add node,Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 15.38.11

I have created my add node called add1 using the tab menu and have also attached it to the file1 node at this stage. I must then click on the add1 node in the network view that will open this window on the top right of the screenshot. This allows me to navigate to the particles tab and switch on add particle system by checking the box. Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 15.38.56The next stage is to navigate back to the points tab and then check the delete geometry but keep the points option by selecting the check box as before.Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 15.39.30I then had to put down a delete node using the tab menu and type in delete and then place the node in the network view. As I am already clicked on the newest node I have just created the window on the right hand side of the next screenshot is shown. Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 15.40.17In the delete1 node as shown below I had to change to operation type from delete selected to delete non selected. Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 15.40.45In the group name I have to write an expression to group the velocity of the selected group in order to do this I must type in the following expression @name==vel.*  The asterix at the end of the expression allows us to keep all three fields of the velocity known as x,y and z. Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 15.41.50The next stage was to copy and paste the delete node which created another node called delete2 I then selected the box on the far right of the node which turned the box blue this now means that I have turned the visibility of this node on. I then went to the group option as before and edited the expression to be @name==surfaceScreen Shot 2014-01-09 at 15.42.39The next stage was organising names of the nodes so that I can better understand my network view. I changed the name of delete2 node to Isolate_Surface and then delete1 was changed to Isolate_Vel finishing with the add1 node being renamed to Isolate_Particles. Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 15.45.40

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 9, 2014 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged .
