Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Flip Fluid Waterfall – Particles, Part 1

The next stage in this tutorial was to create a particle emitter. I made a grid using ctrl click on the grid tool which then placed the grid on the origin of the scene. I had to then connect the edit node that was created using the tab menu and typing in edit and then connect the tail of the grid1 to edit1.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I then had to resize the grid so it was the same width as the geometry but only long enough to cover the first segment of the waterfall. This will control where the particles (water) is coming from so I want them to start from the top of the waterfall. Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 11.18.44While still selected on the grid I need to then go to the particle fluids shelf and select the emit particles tool I press enter to confirm this change. This gives the grid a bulkier appearance with blue particles displayed. This node is called the create_surface_volume node. Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 11.20.35The next stage is to return to the object level and create an AutoDopNetwork node which is done by using the tab menu and typing in Auto Dop which brings up the option for the node that can then be dragged into the network view.

Within the AutoDopNetwork you can see that gravity is now applicable to the network as well as fluid solvers and merges that were made automatically within the auto dop network. Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 11.21.34

This is a preview of the effect the particle emitter gives me at this stage in the simulation. I have to do a lot more work to this to make it look realistic.

Probably one of the most useful features I have come across yet in the AutoDopNetwork there is a node called the flipsolver1 this node creates a blue box outline around my simulation I am able to resize it as if I am resizing normal geometry in order to control where my particles can go. I have made the fluidsolver box hug my geometry cutting into ever so slightly so that particles do not fall down the back and sides like in the previous video.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 20, 2013 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged .
