Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Flip Fluid Waterfall – Creating The Mountain

The original plan was to go through every tutorial in the first steps section however the quick start tutorials through me into the deep end so I feel confident enough to try and create something cool like a waterfall.

This tutorial will show me how to use flip fluids and how to create the geometry for my fluid to interact with.

In the first part of the tutorial I have began by creating a grid in the origin of the scene done by pressing ctrl and clicking on the grid tool in the shelf. Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.27.18 The next stage was to create a mountain node this was done by using the tab menu and typing in mountain which then allowed me to place the mountain node in the network view.Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.27.40

Once I placed the mountain node into the network view I then needed to connect the grid1 node to the mountain1 node so that the grid would take on the appearance of the mountain. Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.28.01 A few adjustments were then required of the mountain which we done using the grid1 parameters window. This allowed me to make changes to the rows and columns of the mountain (grid1) and then begin to edit the roughness of the peaks. Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.29.06 At this stage I began to make adjustments to the height of the mountain which was done in the mountain parameter window seen at the top right hand side of the screenshot below.  Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.30.27 This is were it became more interesting I had to use the Polyextrude tool that I have been getting familiar with lately in order to extrude out certain points of the mountain this was done by highlighting the edges I wanted to polyextrude and pressing the polyextrude button which created a node for that one segment of extrusion. I only edited the global values of the translate parameter as I found out when I accidentally edited the translate parameters local values the peaks turned into lines. Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.37.20 This is an example of how I made the selections for each part of the mountain and edited the global translate values to heighten that segment higher than the previous one. This gave this stepped appearance which is designed for the water to fall down. Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.37.27 This is how the geometry looked when I had finished editing the translate values using the polyextrude tool. I was then able to go back to my mountain node and edit the height of the peaks again to give it a more mountain like appearance. Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.39.54 I then had to select one of the edges at the bottom of the geometry and press the L key which the loops the selection the whole way around the geometry.Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.40.18 Once I had made m selection I created an edit node using the tab menu and typing in edit and then placing this node on the network view. I then changed the value of scale in the y axis to flatten out the line I had selected previous. Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.40.56 I used the polycap tool in order to flatten out the bottom of the geometry. The polycap tool in found on the polygon shelf the same as polyextrude. Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.41.29 The next stage was to select my entire geometry and then use the static object on the rigid bodies tab by then pressing enter an AutoDopNetwork was then created in the network view. Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.42.25 I went into the AutoDopNetwork node and navigated to the grid_object1 node in which I was able to scroll down to the bottom of the parameters and tick on the show collision geometry guide. Once I selected this blue appeared on my geometry which showed me the collision guide.Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.43.37 This is how my geometry looks in wireframe view which is selected by going to the box icon on the scene view and navigating to wireframe. To make the collision guide pick up all of the detail of my geometry I had to then increase the uniform divisions which is not visible in the screen shot but is in the grid_object1 parameters at the top of the scroll I increased this from 30 to 100. Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.43.52 One thing that was strange was in the tutorial the lecturers collision guide was being shown as red wireframe so I then browsed through my options in the grid_object1 view and found collision guide color option which then allowed me to change it to red like in the screenshot below. Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.44.00 The final stage was to turn off my collision guide by unchecking the show collision guide geometry box and now I have my mountain to give a waterfall. Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 15.44.55

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 19, 2013 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged .
