Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Houdini – Re Using, Assets

I began the very final part of this tutorial by learning to re use my assets by bringing them into another scene I begin with a blank scene. I have been provided with a horse model that has been animated by someone else I am using this model to test out my brickify digital asset.

Here is my blank scene to begin with this section of the tutorial.

Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 18.42.59 I now have to import my geometry (horse model) into this scene I do this by going to file_ import _ Geometry.Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 18.43.08 I now have to choose the relevant geometry in this case I shall select the .bgeo file of the horse model to import into my scene. Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 18.43.38 This is the horse model I have been provided with and this is how it looks with smooth view I have not changed anything about the asset at this stage. Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 18.43.59 I am now going to install my digital assets by going to file_ install digital asset library and the following window appears. This is were my digital assets will appear as I begin to install them into this particular scene.Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 18.44.41Here is the brickify.otl file which is one of my digital assets. I am now going to select this file to import into the digital asset library. Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 18.45.13 This slideshow below shows and example of what assets I now have in my digital asset library.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Using the tab menu I can now add the Brickify node into my network view as I could before in the previous scene. Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 18.47.01 In order to apply the digital asset to the horse I select the Brickify1 node and then go to switch1 select input in the brickify level and change this to a custom object. Whenever I select this white icon to the right hand side of custom_object_paths allows me to locate the custom object.Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 18.47.27

Here is the window that allows me to select the horse geometry that I will apply the Brickify1 tool to. Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 18.48.49

 

Once I turn off the Animate_bricks option I am able to see my horse in his Brickified form which is really really cool. Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 18.50.08As with the above stages I was also able to bring in the peg_board asset by using the tab menu and placing the peg board node into the network view. I installed the peg_board asset in the same way as I installed the Brickify asset. Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 18.50.51At this stage I am going to change the base color for the peg_board1 to a green color so it would be more in theme with the running horse. This is done by pressing the green box beside the base color option which brings up the select color window. I can also change the color by editing the numbers in the boxes to the right of the base color. Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 18.51.12 This is a rendered preview of the horse that has had the digital asset Brickify and peg_board1 applied to it, I am going to include a video that will show the outcome of the horse animated in brickified form. Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 18.54.31Here is another screenshot of how my scene currently looks I am going to render frames 1 – 80 to show the brickify tool in its glory.Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 18.59.56

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 16, 2013 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged .
