Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Houdini – Creating A Peg Board, Part 2

Returning to the grid I created earlier on in the tutorial I now have to resize the grid that has the object_merge node attached to it which means that the pegs are attached to the grid I am creating.  Here I copy the parameters from the size axis and paste them into the rows and columns by using the copy parameter function and paste relative reference function available by right clicking on the relevant options.Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 15.09.26 I then had to include a plus 1 onto the end of each of the rows and columns size expressions and here is a zoomed in preview of what the grid now looks like.Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 15.09.47 The next stage is to go to the edit rendering parameters on the pegs level. This opens the rendering parameter type window where I can then pull the instance option into the render tab so that I now have the option of using the instance tab as seen below.Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 15.11.33Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 15.13.34 As you may notice from the above and below point instancing tabs I have turned it from off to full point instancing this is a another difference I have noticed between software versions as in the tutorial the Houdini version the lecturer is using provided a check box the have point instancing on or of and I seem to have the following options off, full point instancing or fast point instancing. Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 15.15.08 It is now time for me to create a digital asset from the peg board which is done by right clicking and navigating to the create digital asset option and clicking on it.  Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 15.16.55 Here is the window that is displayed when I am creating a digital asset where I am required to name the operator and select where abouts I wish to save the asset. I have selected to save the digital asset within the current Brickify asset that I created earlier so I simply overwrote the $HIP/Brickify.otl file from earlier on.

Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 15.17.35

I have now opened up the operator type properties window in order to create some more options on the new digital assets UI. So far I have pulled in two integer parameters into my parameter selection and I have renamed them box and enabled their labels to describe their task. The reason that I am able to do this is because I have turned the label and name prefix’s off that would normally label the parameter the same as the name. Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 15.19.50 In the parameter description window I am no able to set the standard definitions for the size of the board (digital asset I have created.Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 15.20.45 In this screen you can now see the UI I have created that has options for the position and size of the board within the scene. As stated before in the parameter description the standard board size is 20×30.  Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 15.23.30This is the stage where I pull the size options over into the board size boxes in the UI and paste relative references.Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 15.25.53

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 16, 2013 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged .
