Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Houdini – Animating The Assets

The next stage into the tutorial showed me how to animate the assets I did this through using the following steps. The first was to create a group in the network view in order to organise some of the nodes. Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 17.57.58Now that the group is created I need to rename it in order to keep a good arrangement of the nodes and so that I can make sense of things later on it could also be useful if a colleague was working on this scene so that they can understand what I have been doing.Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 18.12.08

The groups name has now been changed to be called  hide_points as this is the task of this node. It is important that I remember to name things accordingly to what they are doing.Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 18.12.49

I now select the task of this node here in the operation selection were I tell the node only the group by range.  In the next stage I am required to create another blast node which is done by using the tab menu simply pressing tab and typing in blast I can then place the node onto the network view and drag it into the correct position. Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 18.13.16

This is the blast node I must now link it to the group node I have created previously this is done by telling the group type to be hide_points and it will only group by range. This is like the calling method in coding when and operation is created I am able to call previous code/methods in order to carry out a task.Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 18.13.35

Here you can see the network view of the new nodes I have created I had to write a new expression in the start/end tool  $F*25 this is the speed that the simulation will play at using $F but the *25 changes the play rate to 25 fps.Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 18.15.50Another operation I am able to carry out using nodes is the sort node I can create it by using the tab menu and typing in sort, I am then allowed to place the node in the network view in the relevant location. I can also select which other nodes I would like to sort by highlighting them before creating the sort node.Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 18.16.22

This is a view of my geometry (Utah teapot) through points this is because I am now going to sort out how this simulation will animate by which way I set the points. The point sort to the right hand side of this screenshot is where I control this I can either sort the points with no change or along the vector I will include examples in my next post.Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 18.17.43A new switch is created in the network view using tab menu and typing in switch and placing it on the network view. I am then able to control the input of the switch by using the input operators at the right hand side in the switch2 properties. I am able to pull in the relevant nodes that I want to switch between in this case it is the color1 node and the blast2 node I can also arrange which one of these selections will appear first. Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 18.21.28The animation that will appear in this simulation will be the building up of the utah teapot using the little blocks I have created. It is like a time lapse of the creation of the teapot in lego form. Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 18.22.14In order to be able to control how the scene is animated from the UI or Brickify tool I have to open the operator type properties window again and drag in another separator this is good practice as in the UI view it shows a line between options to make the UI a little more user friendly. Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 18.31.25

Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 18.32.21The next step is to pull in a toggle option this means that I can literally toggle between whether the simulation will animate or not this is called animate_bricks and I can toggle between animating the bricks or having a static scene it is totally up to me. Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 18.36.27

 

The above screenshot is a preview of what the UI (Brickify tool) now looks like with an option to change the colour values or toggle the animation on and off.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2013 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged , .
