Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Houdini – Nodes, Networks & Assets

Now that everything was grouped together it was time to work on the brickify solution and make the teapot appear to be made of squares almost like a lego teapot. In this screenshot I have began to write expressions to get the size of the teapot correct and so that is does not go strange when I am trying to resize it.  However as you can see in the network view there are errors with my expression so I began the process of debugging and found the errors were spelling mistakes or forgotten symbols in the code. Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 12.50.43

 

To get to this stage I have added a considerable amount of nodes in the network view which allows me to view the teapot in its original state,  as an outline or as the brickified state. In order to add these nodes I have been using the tool palette and dragging the required nodes such as a box and a copy node. I am able to connect these nodes to the remaining nodes and create a network between the geometry.

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 13.01.15

Going back to object level this is how my teapot looks in the brickified state. What worries me at this state is that my selections displayed as white in the image below do not match that of the ones in the tutorial this has happened to me before on my first attempt but I restarted the tutorial in hope that I had just missed something but I appear to be doing the stages exactly the same as the tutorial. The guy in the tutorial has said that hand selecting points can sometimes lead to problems so If he covers this later I may be able to fix this.

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 13.06.02

Here are some examples of the code I had to write for the expressions what this code does is controls the center for the box in the scene based on the parameters set to the null (reference null) that I created as a node in the network view.

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 13.03.46

The image below shows the parameters that are set for the size of the box and I have written code in order to copy the parameters for the null and set them to the size but the first time doing this I did not get nice even numbers like so. The final image shows the code I had to use in order to get the even numbers to make the size easier to deal with.

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 12.59.45 Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 13.03.58

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2013 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged .