Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Houdini – Creating A Brickify Tool

At this stage in the tutorial I am going to be creating the brickify tool as a digital asset in order to do this I must follow a series of steps the first one is to press the tab button to bring up the tab menu and type in subnetwork this opens up a subnet node that I will use to create the brickify instance.Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 17.05.23The next step was to take the brickified_shape and the brick_instance node from the object level and move them into the subnet node that is now renamed to brickify.

A subnet can also be created by pushing the little icon that looks like an opened cardboard box. One things I am finding with Houdini is there seems to be many different ways to execute an action and it just seems to be a matter of self preference whichever method you use.Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 11.21.00The next stage was to create a digital asset from the brickify node this was done by locating the node in the network view and right clicking and pressing the option create digital asset. When I pressed this option the window in the image below appeared. Digital assets are saved as an .otl files.  I had to determine where the asset would be saved after wards another window was displayed.Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 11.16.27

This windows that the lecturer in the video didn’t really get into at present is where you determine the properties of your digital asset. The parameters can be adapted as with anything else in Houdini and he also mentioned the ability to write your own help notes.Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 17.10.04I then had to move on to create a SHOP Network this was done but pressing the tab button and typing into the window shop which displayed the SHOP Network tool a could then place the node on the network view and I now have my own little network within the Brickify tool.Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 17.13.35As the tutorial progressed I was then shown how to assign materials to nodes in a different way than I had been shown before. I wasn’t just assigned a material to a piece of geometry however I was assigned the material to the SHOP network.

Another handy feature that I learnt about is if you can see the purple circle (render flag) around the node in the network view this is how you set which node you want to render. This is done by pressing ctrl whilst clicking on the node you want. You may also notice a node with a blue circle around it this is the node that I am currently viewing but not the one that I will see if I render.Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 17.21.30Here are the steps to assigning a material to a SHOP network (A SHOP Network is a network that can hold materials and shaders) I had to go to the material palette and click on brick material I then had to go back to the SHOP level and then cut the brick_material node and go back into my SHOP network renamed to shopnet1 and paste the node into here.

This process is so that the material now sits inside the brickify tool instead of outside it where it will not function.

I then had to double click into the brickify_shape node and right click on the blast1 node at the very bottom to also bring up the tab menu I am then able to type in the word material and place a material node on the blast1 node path. I then had to click into the material node itself and set its attributes to point attributes which is done via a drop down menu.

In order to get the operator window open which you see below I had to click on the icon to the far right of the material parameter which opens the floating operator chooser as it is known. I had to click down the levels to get to brick_material in the obj tab and then select export relative path and then press accept. This means that the material does not try and apply to the previous nodes down the path it just stays on the selected material node.

To save the changes I have made I right clicked on the brickify level and selected the option save operator type.Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 17.22.04I had to navigate through the network view to return to the torus I had made earlier on in the scene. I then had to right click on the node and go to the option change type which displayed the window as seen below. Where it says operator I changed this option to object merge and unchecked the keep parameters button and accepted then changes.

This enables me to bring in geometry from another object and run it through the system using the object merge tool.Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 19.27.53

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2013 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects and tagged .
