Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Houdini Quickstart Tutorials – Column Stem

This part of the tutorial showed me how to create the stem of the column. I began my using the curve tool to link the top and bottom bases. The next stage was to create a revolve around the stem of the column. I then had to move on to create a fluted column.Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 16.08.47

I had to create a partial revolve and then add the detail and finish by copying it around the stem. This was done by using the revolve I have created making it an open arc the angles of the arc were then changed to -15, -15 to give me a partial revolve. Once I was finished I used the clip tool and shown below so that I could duplicate the geometry.Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 16.11.55 

When duplicating the geometry I had to change the rotation and the number of copies in order to produce a complete top half column.  I then selected all of the geometry for the top half of the column and used the mirror tool as before and created a mirror object to complete the column.Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 16.23.03 

The next stage was to snap the objects together and fuse them to make a complete column this was done by using the snap to point tool as well as the fuse attribute command. Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 16.25.54

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 10, 2013 by in Creative Strategies, Houdini, Special/Visual Effects.
