Nicole Kennedy Design

Ideation, Creation & Everything In Between

Flickering Pixie – Tutorial One

Today I have been working on tutorials for a flickering pixie effect in Maya. I have completed the first tutorial which uses particles and expressions to create this effect here are some of the stages I went through in the process.

At this stage I was shown how to add a particles into my scene and using 500 frames I was able to get this effect when I played the scene. In order to create a particle I had to use the dynamics tab and then particle, create emitter.

Screen Shot 2013-10-16 at 10.02.23I was then shown how to change the shapes displayed from the emitter particle, In this case I had to use sprites.Screen Shot 2013-10-16 at 10.02.15The next thing I had to do was change the direction and speed of the particles as well as create a ramp to control how to particles fade out.Screen Shot 2013-10-16 at 10.06.38Once the pattern of the particles was set I then had to add a lambert and add a file image to the lambert in order the view the sparkles. I also had to add a noise to make the sparkles twinkle.Screen Shot 2013-10-16 at 10.47.34

 

Sparkle_Sprite Image sourced from:

http://wiki.teamfortress.com/wiki/Particle_effects

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2013 by in Creative Experimentation, Creative Strategies, Project One - CS and tagged .
